“Music has the power to change the world”

Someone wrote and asked me what sights or sounds give me hope or inspiration in here, and I’ve gotta say it’s the same thing that’s given me inspiration all my life: music. I’m super grateful for the fact that MTV plays music all day again lol, I don’t know when that started, but I haven’t watched cable TV since I was like 12, so it was surprising to see there’s a music channel 24/7. And music, for me it’s EVERYTHING, it’s what’s always got me through the good, bad and ugly. My mother always said as a kid “music is a universal language, one we all speak”. And it’s just so true, it’s an art that transcends time, language, demographic, sex, gender, etc. It’s why Spanish music and reggaeton and K-pop has gotten so popular and taken the globe, it’s like you don’t need to know Spanish to feel what Romeo Santos is singing or Anita or Kali Uchis or Prince Royce, you know? You don’t need to speak Korean to be enthralled or infatuated with K-pop groups. Its why accents seemingly disappear in songs and why the influence of British artists in the sixties was so heavily inspired by black culture and R&B. Its how a song can start a movement and artists can inspire youth and music can change the world.

One the the things I’ve noticed as time as gone on us how open our queer community has become in music and it’s so awe inspiring, it’s beautiful. I wish it was like that when I was young, but I always credit Sam Smith for making me more comfortable in my sexuality. They’re truly an incredible artist. And when I see artists like Omar Apollo and Fletcher or Dove Cameron open and proud in their music and girls and art form, it’s lovely. And when I see artists who aren’t gay but love the community and help normalize things, like Hozier and Tyler Chindlers and Avicii (rip), it makes me happy. I just watched a video the other day by Troye Sivan and it was “Rush” and I LOVED it. It was very gay and positive and free.

So what sights and dunes give me hope and inspiration? Music and music videos, the positive outlook on the LGBTQ community, positive messages, revolutionary messages. Music that speaks, that talks for a generation and makes the unheard heard. That’s what gives me inspiration in here. Music is ONE thing that brings us together, it’s barrier breaking and beautiful. It’s as old as we are as humans, it’s a way to communicate when mere words fail. I promise, listen to your friends’ fav artist or song right now and it’ll tell you something that’s going on inside their head, in their world. That’s why I don’t recommend music lightly, if I recommend a song to someone, there’s a reason it speaks to what’s going on. It’s relatable and meaningful, and I believe that artist or song will impact them. Music is how we love each other, and in a world where capitalism forces a divide and hate for one another’s differences, music can trump that all.

So I love music that pushes and challenges the establishment and status quo and gets you thinking. It’s something the establishment and old guard have long been afraid of. Music scares them because it can, will, and has inspired dissent and revolution and youth breaking societal norms. There’s a reason that repressed Rage Against The Machine from playing in the US. Music has the power to change the world. I wish we had love-ins like the 60’s with music and laughter, free food and clothing and company and a good time. Anyways I digress… Music is what makes me feel connected to the world still as I’m held in captivity away from the world.